Club Cowra

Laura Price Takes Out Anzac Writing Comp

Written by: The Cowra Phoenix

AdobeStock 384839852

Cowra’s Laura Price has taken out the East zone of the Secondary Schools division of Member for Riverina Michael McCormack’s annual Anzac Writing Competition.

The 17-year old Year 11 student of St aphael’s Catholic School was one of more than 1,000 Primary and Secondary students from around 40 schools across the Riverina electorate to submit an entry for the 14th annual competition.

This year’s theme was “Keeping the ANZAC spirit alive in the Riverina and Central West.”

Mr McCormack was impressed by the quality of the entries this year and acknowledged the students’ efforts and support provided by both teachers and parents.

“The writing competition demonstrates how important the ANZAC spirit is to Riverina and Central West students,” Mr McCormack said.

“I am impressed to see how the students embraced the theme of keeping the ANZAC spirit alive, whether it be writing a heartwarming piece about a family loved one, or a soldier’s account of the war to local heroes.

“The prize winners this year have written outstanding and uplifting stories, each deserving of a book prize.

“I would like to thank every student who submitted an entry this year.

“My gratitude extends also to the teachers and parents who supported the students – without their support this competition would not be possible.

“It is incredibly important for us all to commemorate and remember our ANZACs and acknowledge courage, ingenuity, endurance, humour and mateship are just as important today as they were in past years.”

Every student who submitted an entry will receive a participation certificate featuring a watermark of the front cover of this year’s annual ANZAC Day commemorative booklet, produced by Mr McCormack, which will arrive in letterboxes across the electorate in the coming weeks.

Entries were put into Primary and Secondary categories, with the Riverina electorate divided into North, South, East and West divisions.

Each of the 16 winning and highly commended entries have been published in the 52-page booklet, which also contains fascinating articles about the extraordinary deeds performed by ordinary Riverina and Central West residents who went to war. These 16 students will also receive a book prize from the Australian War Memorial and authors Deborah Wheeler and Mat McLachlan.

The booklet also contains all the ANZAC Day service times from locations across the Riverina and Central West.

Primary schools winning book prize recipients
North: Hiya Changela, 10, Year 5, St Laurence’s Parish School, Forbes
South: Seth Willis, 11, Year 6, Yerong Creek Public School
East: Junmahbi Sein, 11, Year 6, Bribbaree Public School
West: Max Reid, 10, Year 6, Temora Public School

Secondary schools winning book prize recipients
North: Joselyne Folau, 15, Year 10, Red Bend Catholic College, Forbes
South: John Curtis, 18, Year 12, St Mary Mackillop College, Wagga Wagga East: Laura Price, 17, Year 11, St Raphael’s Catholic School, Cowra
West: Harvey Drumore, 12, Year 7, St Anne’s Catholic College, Temora

Secondary schools highly commended book prize recipients
North: Ebony Sullivan, 15, Year 10, Red Bend Catholic College, Forbes
South: Sydney Whyte, 15, Year 10, Wagga Wagga High School
East: Hailie Onley, 16, Year 11, Cootamundra High School
West: William Butcher, 13, Year 8, West Wyalong High School

Aging and Disability Commision

Stay Connected

    Get in Contact

Cowra News to your inbox

Sign up now for the latest news from the Cowra Area direct to your inbox.