Ray White Emms Mooney – Above

Eisteddfod Looks To Major Concert After Successful 2022 Event

Written by: The Cowra Phoenix

IMAGE LEFT: The youngest dance competitors; the winner of this section was Miela Baker from Queanbeyan, NSW. IMAGE RIGHT:Olivia Ruggiero, winner of the Frank Wooldridge Memorial Trophy and the Ev and Jim Ryan Memorial Shield.

The annual Cowra Eisteddfod is now looking towards its Concert of Major Prize Winners at the Cowra Civic Centre this Saturday night, after a successful action-packed three weeks of performing arts competition.

The concert will feature all major prize winners from the event, including the winner of the Aria & Vocal Scholarship winner, Joshua Oxley, the Instrumental and Dance Scholarship winners, including Sebaga Neumann, Jemima Paul and Chloe Harrigan, and many other entertaining items from all areas of the eisteddfod.

“It’s your chance to see the ‘cream of the crop’ all on the same stage,” said Cowra Eisteddfod Vice President Jan Munday.

This year’s event featured categories across disciplines including dance, vocal, speech and drama, and instrumental, across both junior and senior age groups.

Some winners of some categories included the following performers:

Open Tap Dance Senior Championship and Damon Griffiths Award for Most Outstanding Tapper - Chloe Harrigan, Torrens, ACT.

Most Promising Jazz/Tap Dancer - Amelia Punch, Molong NSW.

Munday Family Trophy for Dance/Funk/Hip Hop Senior Championship - Jake Keen, Fadden, ACT.

Hadson Trophy - Chloe Harrigan, Torrens, ACT.

15/u Ballet Dance Intermediate Championship - Lily Dal Broi, Hanwood, NSW.

Betty Keirnan Memorial Trophy for Senior Ballet Championship - Grace Caine, Forde, ACT.

Hilda McFarland trophy for 15 yr/under

Dance/Funk/Hip hop intermediate

Championship - Saebra Gallacher, Flynn, ACT.

Cowra Ballet School Trophy for locally taught pointscore, 13yrs and over - Destiny Piper, Cowra, NSW.

14yr Ballet Pointscore Trophy - Abbey Rowland.

Lauren McCarthy Encouragement award 13-20 years - Sarah Miller.

13-19 Teenage Piano Championship - Charles Croaker.

Esther McCarthy Encouragement award Under 12yrs - Karen Xie.

12yrs/u Dance/Funk/Hip Hop Junior Championship - Matilda Nelson, Dubbo, NSW.

12 years and under Ballet Championship - London Yeomans.

12/u Entertainment Section - Madison Willmott, ACT.

Charnock Trophy 12yrs/u Revue Point Score - Emily Grieg, Bruce, ACT.

Cowra Ballet School 12yrs/u Locally Taught Point Score - Elias Richens, Cowra, NSW.

“The Committee was very pleased with the strength of talent that competed at this year’s Eisteddfod, and is very grateful for the marvellous support given to the Eisteddfod by the many sponsors who make it possible to draw all of this amazing talent to Cowra to appear on the Civic Centre stage,” Jan Munday said.

Tickets for Saturday’s concert are available from the Cowra Civic Centre website, https://www.cowraciviccentre.com/Whats-On/Whats-On/All-Events/Cowra-Eisteddfod-Grand-Concert.

Cowra Civic Center – Whats On

Stay Connected

    Get in Contact

Cowra News to your inbox

Sign up now for the latest news from the Cowra Area direct to your inbox.

Cowra Bowling Club