Club Cowra

Australia Day 2023 in Cowra

Written by: The Cowra Phoenix

IMAGE: Australia Day Ambassador Eren Incekara.

Cowra Shire Council will again host a seriesof events tomorrow, January 26, to celebrate Australia Day in Cowra.

The day will start with a free community breakfast at Cowra Civic Square at 8am, with the Rotary Club of Cowra providing a BBQ, and Jason and Chloe Roweth playing live music.

A flag raising and World Peace Bell ceremony will then take place at 8:45am, followed by the awards presentation and citizenship ceremony at 9am inside the Cowra Civic Centre.

The nominees for Young Citizen of the Year and Cowra Citizen of the Year are as follows:

Young Citizen of the Year

Laura Price - attends St Raphael’s Catholic School and contributes to many local groups and activities from the Cowra Youth Council, the Cowra Eisteddfod, the Cowra Show Society volunteer youth group and a number of sports.

Benson Sullivan - is the incoming captain at Cowra High School, but has regularly contributed to his community volunteering for community events and fundraisers with his band, PlusOne.

Cowra Citizen of the Year

Jennifer Friend - has for many years contributed to Legacy, the Cowra Eisteddfod, the Cowra Musical and Dramatic Society, Meals on Wheels, Cowra Community Chest and Cancer Action Groups.

Helen “Hell” Horton - works tirelessly in our community, particularly with our youth, and is renowned for going above and beyond in her role with the Cowra Information and Neighbourhood Centre.

Anne Jeffrey - has been a valued member of the Cowra community for 20 years and has in that time made valuable contributions via her roles with Riding for the Disabled and the Cowra Wine Show Committee.

Marc McLeish - contributes to the Cowra community in many ways, most prominently with the Cowra Magpies but also as a member of the Cowra Town Band, MC of community events and organising fundraising in times of need.

Ashleigh Ryan - works at the Cowra Retirement Village and supports charities such as the Stroke Foundation.

Catherine Thompson - is the unit controller of the Gooloogong State Emergency Service Unit and has worked tirelessly to keep Gooloogong informed and safe during recent flood events. She has also been involved in the SES’s First Respond-ers team in Gooloogong for many years.

Della Toohey - has made a significant contribution to our community over many years teaching local children to swim. Nominations for the Community Group of the Year and the Dr Warren Whiley Memorial Award for Arts, Culture and Citizenship will be announced at the ceremony. “These exceptional community members from across the Cowra Shire have all contributed through their social, community, and volunteer roles to help enrich the lives of others. They have worked tirelessly for the betterment of our community,” said Cowra Mayor Bill West.

Little Wings volunteer pilot, Eren Incekara, will be Cowra’s Australia Day Ambassador for 2023.

Little Wings is a non-profit organisation that provides free, professional, safe flight and ground transport services for seriously ill children in rural and regional NSW and the ACT.

“I began my journey with Little Wings in March 2021 during the COVID lock-downs to ensure families were able to receive the treatments they required. Little Wings strives to ease the journey and help sick children access specialised medical services and treatments that are only available in major cities or towns. It’s an amazing organisation to be involved with,” said Eren.

Aging and Disability Commision

Stay Connected

    Get in Contact

Cowra News to your inbox

Sign up now for the latest news from the Cowra Area direct to your inbox.