Keady's Corner

2024 Australia Day Award Nominees

Written by: The Cowra Phoenix

Australia Day
Australia Day

Mayor Ruth Fagan said that Council was delighted with the outstanding nominations for the 2024 Australia Day Awards.

“With a vast array of volunteers in the Cowra Shire, another wonderful group of individuals and organisations have been nominated for the Australia Day Awards. The nominations put forward each year continue to showcase the truly outstanding individuals and groups that we have living in the Cowra community,” said Cr Fagan. Cowra’s 2024 Australia Day celebrations will start with a free community breakfast in Civic Square at 8am, followed by the official flag raising and World Peace Bell ceremony, before the awards presentation, citizenship ceremony and Australia Day ambassador address at the Cowra Civic Centre at 9am.

The nominees for the 2024 Cowra Australia Day Awards are as follows.

Young Citizen of the Year

  • Kai Fitzgerald
  • Samuel Haeata
  • Cohan Howden

Cowra Citizen of the Year

  • Karren Cave
  • Andrew Fisher
  • Nikki Kiss
  • Penny Smith

Community Group of the Year

  • Cowra Amateur Musical and Dramatic Society
  • Gooloogong Recreation Park Markets Dr Warren Whiley Memorial Award
  • Jan Munday
Steph Cooke

Stay Connected

    Get in Contact

Cowra News to your inbox

Sign up now for the latest news from the Cowra Area direct to your inbox.

Steph Cooke